Can't reuse name of deleted notebook?


#1

If I publish a notebook, delete it, then attempt to publish another notebook with the same name I get:

That name has already been taken

Is that intentional? If so, it might be a good idea to note that in the publish dialog and / or help page.


How can I reuse an archived notebook
#2

Right now, “delete” would more accurately be described as “archive” (and I’m going to change the wording to reflect that). “Deleting” a notebook removes it from search, from your notebook listing, and makes it read-only. However, if you have a direct link, the notebook is still available.

We wanted to create a system where code could be shared and people could rely on the immutability of that code. For example: because you can require one notebook from another (or even from outside RunKit entirely), we don’t want code you’re requiring to disappear.

This has mostly worked OK, with some confusion from time to time. In the few instances where someone has accidentally put things into RunKit that shouldn’t have been public, they’ve been able to email us and we’re usually able to delete that fully in a pretty short time frame. The system we have now definitely isn’t perfect, so we’re always interested in hearing what people think about it.


#3

Hi, thanks for the info.

For example: because you can require one notebook from another

Ah, I wasn’t even aware of that yet.

Right now, “delete” would more accurately be described as “archive” (and I’m going to change the wording to reflect that). […] However, if you have a direct link, the notebook is still available.

I think changing that wording is a great idea. I didn’t realize that the notebook would still be available to others after “deleting” it and especially with it not even being visible to me anymore. I think it’d be helpful to have an archive section on the your notebooks page as well.

I get why you’ve designed the system for immutability, so I still think it’d be a good idea to make it more obvious (e.g. on the Publish form) that the name will be “gone” forever once the notebook is published. Now that I know that I’ll be more careful about choosing names, and archiving (unless it’s going to become possible to unarchive).

Thanks!


#4

There’s no UI for it of course, but if there’s something you’d like “unarchived” you should shoot us a support email and we can take care of you.


#5

Great, thanks! I don’t have a specific problem with it right now, so I’ll just keep that in mind.


#6

Is there is way to ‘delete’ (instead of archiving) empty notebooks ?

I got some of them, and didn’t find a way to remove them (I could ‘re-use’ them and find proper names/usages), but
it seems a waste of resources ?